Guides

Answering service cost UK

UK answering service costs run from 99p per call at the pay-as-you-go end to nearly £400 a month for a mid-tier bundled plan. What you actually pay depends on the billing model, how long your calls run, and whether the provider publishes rates at all. Several do not. All figures below were checked against provider websites in August 2026 and are quoted excluding VAT unless stated.

Last updated

The problem

Answering service pricing is deliberately hard to compare. That's the first thing to understand before you spend anything.

Three things work against you:

  • Most UK providers don't publish rates. You fill in a questionnaire or take a sales call, and get a quote based on what they think you'll pay.
  • The headline number isn't what you pay. A base plan buys a small allowance, and the real cost lives in the overage.
  • Every model charges by volume. Per call or per minute, so the cost rises exactly when the business is doing well.

For a business that quotes in day rates and fixed prices, that's an awkward way to buy your own front door. You can't forecast it, and you're mildly penalised for the calls you most want to receive.

This guide sets out what the models actually cost at realistic volumes, where the hidden fees are, and how the maths change when the cost of answering a call isn't tied to a human being on the other end.


The three billing models

Per-call pricing

You pay a fixed amount each time an agent answers. This is the simplest model to budget for.

myalldayPA advertises "from just 99p per call" on its website. That is the only figure it publishes. No plan structure, no included volume, and no membership cost appear anywhere on the site; you sign up or call their membership team to find out the rest.

Who it suits: businesses with low, unpredictable call volumes where a monthly commitment would be wasteful.

The catch: short calls and long calls cost the same. A two-minute "what are your opening hours?" costs as much as a ten-minute lead qualification.


Per-minute pricing

You pay for talk time, billed in one-minute increments. A monthly plan includes a block of minutes, and overage is charged on top.

AnswerConnect publishes its UK rates in full, which makes it the most comparable provider in the market:

PlanMinutes includedMonthlyOverageSetup fee
25-minute25£45£1.85/min£49.99
50-minute50£89£1.85/min£49.99
75-minute75£125£1.75/min£49.99
Entry150£205£1.75/min£49.99
Growth250£245£1.75/minNone
Standard350£395£1.75/min£49.99

The setup fee applies to every plan except the 250-minute one, which AnswerConnect badges as its best value tier.

The ladder keeps going: plans run up to 49,950 minutes at £48,275 a month. There is no long-term contract, and the first 30 interactions under 30 seconds in a billing cycle are not charged. Everything else is rounded up to the nearest minute and billed in one-minute increments, so a 20-second call past that allowance still costs you a full minute.

Who it suits: businesses whose call durations vary and who want to pay proportionally.

The catch: overage is where the pain lives. A busy month or a few long calls pushes you well past the headline price.


Quote-only pricing

Some of the largest UK providers publish nothing at all.

AllDayPA's UK marketing site offers "pay per call or per minute, you choose" and then routes you to a savings calculator, a quote form, or a phone number. The only published rate card sits inside its self-service signup flow: £29.95 a month excluding VAT for 25 minutes, £49.95 for 45 minutes, and a custom-priced Accelerator tier. Those are ex-VAT figures, so the £49.95 tier is £59.94 a month in real money. No overage rate is published.

Moneypenny publishes no pricing at all. Its telephone answering service is priced by quote, tailored to call volume and confirmed after a conversation, and its guidance describes billing by the minute rather than by the call. What it does publish is the commitment: three months minimum on schemes including 150 minutes or fewer, six or twelve months on larger ones, with three months' notice.

The catch: you cannot compare either provider against anything without entering a sales process first.


Worked example at 60 calls a month

Assume 60 calls averaging three minutes each, so 180 minutes of talk time.

OptionCalculationMonthly total
myalldayPA per-call60 × 99p£59.40 plus any membership fee
AnswerConnect Entry£205 + 30 overage min × £1.75£257.50 (plus £49.99 setup)
AnswerConnect Growth£245, 250 minutes covers 180£245.00
AnswerConnect Standard£395, 350 minutes covers 180£395.00 (plus £49.99 setup)

Two things stand out. The Growth plan at £245 is cheaper than the Entry plan at £257.50 for this volume, because Entry's smaller allowance tips you into overage. And if your calls run to four minutes rather than three, Entry rises to £362.50 while Growth stays at £245. The cheapest headline plan is frequently not the cheapest plan.


Hidden fees to check before you sign

  • Setup fees. AnswerConnect charges £49.99 on its Entry and Standard tiers but not on Growth. Ask whether yours is waived.
  • After-hours cover. Some providers charge extra for evenings, weekends, and Bank Holidays rather than including them.
  • Minimum contract length. Monthly rolling or a twelve-month commitment changes what a bad fit costs you.
  • Overage rate. The base plan price is rarely what you pay in a busy month. Get the per-minute or per-call rate in writing.
  • Transfer fees. Some providers charge a premium when a call is transferred to you rather than messaged.
  • Script changes. Re-briefing agents when your services or prices change may cost money or take days to take effect.
  • VAT. Quoted prices are almost always exclusive. Add 20%.

Where AI receptionists change the maths

Traditional answering services charge per call or per minute because they are paying people to sit on phones. An AI receptionist has a different cost structure underneath it, so the pricing works differently.

  • Flat monthly pricing. No per-call fees, no per-minute overage, no after-hours surcharge.
  • No volume anxiety. A busy week does not produce a bigger invoice.
  • Cover included. Evenings, weekends, Bank Holidays, no add-on.
  • Instant changes. Update your services or FAQs in the app in seconds, with no re-briefing.

AI receptionists in the UK market run from roughly £20 to £100 a month for small business plans.

For a trade business taking 60 or more calls a month, the maths usually favour AI by a wide margin. The predictability matters as much as the price.


Comparison table

OptionMonthly costExtra per call or minuteAfter-hoursQualifies leadsPrices published
myalldayPAFrom 99p/callPer callNot statedNoPartially
AnswerConnect£45–£395£1.75–£1.85/minIncludedRarelyYes, in full
AllDayPAFrom £29.95 ex VAT, 25 minsPer call or per minuteNot statedNoIn signup flow only
MoneypennyQuote onlyPer minuteExtraNoNo
AI receptionist£20–£100NoneIncludedYesYes

Telphi

Telphi is a flat-rate AI receptionist built for UK trade businesses. One monthly price covers calls at any hour, lead qualification, job summaries, and a booking link that lets callers book straight into your calendar. No overage, no after-hours surcharge, no setup fee. Seven days free, no card required.

Start your free trial on the App Store


Frequently asked questions

Pricing is built around call volume and the services you need, and providers would rather quote you directly than be compared on a page. A business taking ten calls a day has different economics from one taking a hundred. The practical effect is that you cannot shop around without a sales conversation first.

No. It depends on volume and duration. At low volumes, 99p a call is excellent value. At higher volumes with long calls, a bundled plan or a flat-rate AI receptionist usually costs less.

Usually any call an agent answers. Some providers treat very short calls differently. AnswerConnect, for example, does not charge for the first 30 interactions under 30 seconds in a billing cycle. Ask where your provider draws the line.

Some include it, some charge extra, some restrict it to higher tiers. Check the contract rather than the marketing page.

Almost never. Add 20% to work out the real cost.

Look at your phone's call log for the last month. Count inbound calls answered plus missed calls. That is your baseline. Add a buffer if you are growing.

Divide the monthly bill by the number of genuine enquiries it produced. At £245 a month for 20 qualified leads you are paying £12.25 a lead. A flat-rate AI receptionist at £45 a month capturing the same 20 is £2.25. ---

One price. Every call answered.

A busy month costs the same as a quiet one.

MonthlyYearly49% off

Unlimited

For local businesses that cannot stop to answer the phone.

£44.99/month

Billed monthly. Cancel any time.

  • Unlimited calls
  • Business phone number
  • Transfer to a person
  • Books into your calendar
  • Summaries, transcripts, recordings
  • Priority support
Start your free trial

7 days free, then £44.99 a month

No contract. No setup fee. Cancel any time.

Get started today

Join local businesses that never miss a customer call. Set up takes less than 5 minutes.

Download on the App Store